What Can A Simple Walk Teach You

I recently got a chance to go to South Mumbai. Under usual circumstances, I don’t go alone, which was not the case this time. The person I usually travel with to this area was holidaying out of the country. As a result, I went there, may be because I thought it would help me ignore my loneliness for a while. In the earlier part of my life after I left school, I was used to coming here alone, sometimes for entirely different reasons. I love this part of the city. It has a soul that you can feel by walking on its streets, especially in late afternoons. That was precisely the time I went there.

Now, sometimes I like taking an odd turn here or there. It yields fascinating results at times, other times not so. I could take this risk today, since it was just me. This area, which is around my school (Bharda New High School, CST) is not entirely unknown to me, but it is a shame to state that I did not roam around much in alleys immediately south to my school. I took that turn today in the direction of Murzban Road.

20131117_152906_1_wm

It was not at all disappointing: old Victorian style buildings still dot the area. Though now owned by corporate houses (a building has been renamed Videocon Heritage… Eww!), these structures still look like they would in their heydays. The certain best part about the place were its empty roads, scattered with few dead tamarind leaves at the fringes. And with the kind of silence that exists here, it is a peaceful place right in the heart of a not-so-peaceful city.

20131117_152943_1_wm

The location looked like a living allegory. The road seemed like life; the buildings, the memories. Some roads met and so did the buildings, just like two lives meet and share their memories. Some memories crumble with time, some remain. The fabric of life I was walking on contained memories that have stood the test of time. And these memories are still beautiful! This made me feel slightly less lonely, and a bit optimistic, too.

20131117_153252_1_wm

I kept walking at my slowest pace, eventually reaching the lane which exits opposite Tata Communications. And then, all of a sudden, I was back to the real world. I turned around to see where I just came from. It was a wonderful little journey. It is amazing how just a simple walk through a peaceful street can be so soothing and ingratiating. I walked ahead, smiling.

20131117_153126_1_wm

4 thoughts on “What Can A Simple Walk Teach You

  1. Wonderfully written Salman, and yes i know exactly what you felt. A couple of weeks back i reached early for a meeting at Fort and did exactly what you did. Spent some peaceful time roaming the streets getting awed by the timeless heritage structures. They never lose their beauty & grace. That part of Mumbai never fails to fascinate me.

    Like

    1. Without a doubt, Naila! The place appears to be unmoved by all the hustle-bustle around it. The peace it brings is inexplicable! Thank you for reading this post. I am glad you liked it, and could relate to it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Beautifully written ! I love walking down these lanes too, and I am usually alone on these walks. Walking with a group would be an interesting thing, but has yet to happen. But coming back to the walk, the reason I love walking here is just as you have mentioned…it makes things seem so much better, helps me look at things optimistically and I leave these lanes with a smile on my face.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.